Skip to content

Mushroom and Feta Tart

September 15, 2010

As it was my night to cook last night, I decided to try out a new recipe. Usually, those words strike fear (or, at the very least, apprehension) in the hearts of my roommates. However, based on the non-healthy status of the meal and the inclusion of not one but two different types of cheese, they seemed open to trying something new.

I found this recipe, adapted from Kitchen Wench, on Tastespotting and was inspired by the gorgeous picture. While I may not have the skills (or equipment) to take such stunning photographs, I did my best to make a damn good tart.

1 small container of button mushrooms
1 1/3 cup of Ricotta Cheese
2 small containers of feta cheese (I used a garlic and herb variation)
2 eggs
zest and juice of one large lemon
1 large onion
3-4 cloves minced garlic
2 sheets of phyllo dough
salt and pepper to taste

Before going into the oven...

  1. Preheat over to 425 degrees.
  2. Mix both cheeses, the eggs, and salt and pepper together in a large bowl.
  3. Dice the onion and toss in a skillet with heated olive oil. Add garlic. Cook until translucent.
  4. Add onions and garlic to cheese mixture and stir. Add lemon. I forgot the lemon when I cooked this, but I would recommend it for future recipes.
  5. Spread the mixture onto the thawed dough, leaving 3-4 centimeters around the boarder
  6. Cover with sliced mushrooms. I’ve found the more, the better. Particularly when the dough spreads during cooking.
  7. Fold the edges and brush with olive oil.
  8. Cook for 40-45 minutes.
  9. Cool and enjoy!

The original recipe has great pictures to follow along with, as well as a great appetizer idea that I will totally be making in the near future.

While waiting for the tart to cook, I had a wonderful spinach salad with feta, cranberries, slivered almonds, and raspberry vinaigrette.

We watched Bones while eating (and taking phone calls from my mother) and ended the meal with a ramekin of chocolate frozen yoghurt and fresh sliced strawberries.

See? Sometimes trying new things can be good. And delicious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:02 pm

    So tasty!! This is going in the keeper pile!

  2. janet permalink
    September 16, 2010 3:20 pm

    please make it for me!!!!

Leave a Reply

