Skip to content

Paging 401

September 2, 2010

I would try to excuse my absence, but like I tell my students, I don’t care what it is as long as you have a note. And I don’t have one. Maybe I could call my mom, I guess, but I don’t think that works in college…

So, suffice it to say, my bad. I’ve been awful and more than that, I have been shamed by not just one but BOTH of my roommates for my long absence.

And I swear, I can explain.

We last left off with young Lisa approaching the dewy morning of her graduate year. Doe-eyed and fresh-faced, Lisa was soon struck down by the open-palmed slap of reality that demanded she work, like, a real job! That, in conjunction with classes, has left poor Lisa with little time to frolic in flower-strewn field under the summer sun or, you know, sleep.

Alright, enough of the third-person. It’s creeping me out.

All of the above is to say that I just started my first year as a graduate student working on getting an MA in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing (particularly poetry). And yes, I know that I have chosen what has to be the most useless career imaginable and to that I can only that, but I like it. I plan on spending two years here, taking a year off to work on my portfolio (and, after the MA exam, to recover psychologically without bursting into sloppy, noisy tears at a moment’s notice), and then applying to a large number of schools with a degree (MFA or PhD) in Creative Writing. After that, I hope that Wendy’s is hiring.

School, for me, started on the 9th of August with a barrage of TA workshops. That’s right: someone hired me to teach. I teach one class of Basic English (or Basic Comp), work in the writing center, and take a full course-load of classes. And this is why I haven’t been posting. But despite the long hours, there are many, many perks to the being a TA/Grad student.

An office.

An office.

Last names blurred to protect the guilty.

An office!

On the fourth floor of our (haunted) English Department building, there is a periodically air-conditioned suite with my name on it. Literally. On both doors.

See?

Oooohhhh...ambiance.

I brought in a few of my own things to decorate my desk, including several of the wonderful prints I got from Etsy earlier this summer. The lamp is from my bedroom at home and, for now, is temporary. This is not to say that I don’t love it (I do!) but that there is now a giant empty spot on my nightstand at home where this lamp used to be. I have been having trouble finding a modern lamp that is affordable (though this is not to say that I haven’t found any cute lamps. Hello, Pottery Barn!). So, until this, this is my work space.

Damn thing has been padlocked!

There is a ladder that leads up to the roof that has been padlocked. Sad!

Wise words from the seller: "my cats had some good loving on this couch..."

And a lounge with a questionable sofa.

After I got settled into my office, I ventured out into the overly bright world outside Lee Hall.

Awkward picture!

Thank you, Ray Bans.

Before

For the longest time, there was a building on campus that had to be one of the most hideous buildings I had ever seen. Seven floors of hot mess, Suttle Hall was a dorm that, for the last year at least, has housed more rats than students. They finally decided to tear it down and we all watched in hushed, reverent silence as they began demolition. When the first ball hit, the only thing that exploded was a cloud of dust. Anti-climatic to say the least.

And After.

But I still took pictures each day to show the progression of the soon to be, Oh God I hope, parking garage. Because like any college campus, parking is a freaking nightmare.

Campus, despite a few of the more questionable buildings (I’m looking at you, Allen) is just as pretty as I remember. I’ve heard rumor that State Fountain Bakery has half-priced muffins with coffee in the mornings, so I will have to stop by before I head off to teach my class. Maybe I’ll have time tomorrow.

Here’s to hoping.

As for tonight, I’ve got work to do. Exploring campus shall be continued another day.

Ciao.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. janet permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:53 am

    Awesome post, almost worth the loooong wait!

  2. September 2, 2010 5:32 pm

    We’ve missed you!

  3. Lindsay permalink
    September 4, 2010 11:48 am

    1. I love your office.
    2. I wish I had an office.
    3. It’s nice to be able to see where you slack off every day and probably play around on Facebook and Google Reader every day. 🙂
    4. Who wrote that adorable sign on blue paper for your office?!

    Oh, something that you should add to most posts: “and thank you to my wonderful and amazing sister for the pictures. Like always” It should pretty much just be your tagline.

  4. Lindsay permalink
    September 4, 2010 11:49 am

    P.S. I want another post. Soon.

Leave a Reply

