Skip to content

Financial Woah!

July 29, 2010

Lauren, over at GeezieCreezie, reminded me (oh so subtly) that my punk ass hinted at future posts that never materialized. Well, here they are.

Also, as this will be an image-light post, enjoy this picture of a cat:

As a newly semi-independent graduate, I am facing a myriad of financial aid decisions by myself. Of course, I’ve gone through the pain of FAFSA each year, filling out the endless questions about income and tax forms and dependency status, but this is the first year I’m filling this form out as an independent. And I gotta say, there is nothing more depressing that being able to skip the income section all together because I have none. Income, that is. There is nothing like an empty form to remind you how broke you are.

As I often find that music motivates me, I could not help but crank up Three Dog Night’s “One is the Loneliest Number” as I soldiered through each zero.

Of course, one of the reasons I am so broke is due to my love of music. In addition to my constantly swelling iTunes bill, I’m going to several concerts in October that, while cheap, weren’t free. Vampire Weekend and Beach House, Matt and Kim, and MGMT all back to back promise to be a tiring but awesome month.

And all of this plus my love of Etsy equate to a depleted bank account and a full room.

If you are new to Etsy, it is a fantastic way to discover new artists and artisans. I lean towards prints, but I’ve discovered anything from dishes to clothes to stationary (and that isn’t touching the horrors of “Regretsy”). My most recent love? Leah Duncan’s amazing shop full of gorgeous prints and fabrics. You’ll be seeing this print soon:

as well as any others I can afford.

God, I need a job.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 4:05 pm

    You’re ridic. <333

  2. Neha permalink
    August 15, 2010 12:28 am

    Ahh financial woes. I too got the talk for when I go to grad school that it’s all on me. Can’t wait. lol And I must now check out Etsy.

Leave a Reply

