Skip to content

The Creature From the Bag Lagoon

July 28, 2010

Like Fort Knox, I guard my bag fiercely. Unlike Fort Knox, I carry it around with me. And like any girl, I swap between an assortment of bags without purging, cleaning, or even really looking at said pile of crap before moving it.

I tend to be neat, but I accumulate a shocking amount of items with increasingly faulty logic (but what if I need it?).

So, for the first time ever, I am sharing the contents of my bag. Because it really, really needed to be cleaned out.

As a good bibliophile, I go everywhere with a book. As a pre-TLC hoarder, I usually carry anywhere from two to four. I reason each book by differentiating genres, such as novels (Ames’ Wake Up, Sir!), essays (Didion’s Slouching Towards Bethlehem), and, for a stretch, humorous essays (Hornby’s House-Keeping Vs. the Dirt). I usually only carry one book of essays while the other book is a collection of short stories or poetry. I also carry a random assortment of pens and a blank book (handmade, which I bought from Williamsburg).

In addition to books, I almost always have at least one magazine, usually music-related. I’ve been to Barnes & Noble very recently, which explains the quantity presented, but I like to keep a copy of Paste (or Under the Radar or Death + Taxes) with me in case I get bored with the mobile library of books I’ve brought.

Before all of that, though, my first choice is the chocolate-covered Twizzlers of the literary world, the iPad. Because even as a book lover, I like to rot my brain first with an onslaught of YouTube, Netflix, and RSS readers.

Now, as a necessity, I have a certain cache of items that are always, always transferred with each bag. My sunglasses come first, because any time before sunset is really, really bright. Lip balm (Burt’s Bees), lotion, GermX, mints, and car keys are always necessary as well.

See? It all fits!

I put my iPhone in the bag as a formality only because it is more often than not fused to my hand rather than my purse. And because I’m addicted to iTunes (and, apparently, buying on credit), headphones are a must.

What you don’t see here is what I add during the school year: a bottle of water and a pad of paper.

And of course, my camera, which isn’t in the picture because it’s taking the picture.

P.S.: While not physical, I’ve included a short list of what I’m listening to right now, because it’s just that damn important.

CLICK ME!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Willow Scott permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    Thanks for the insight. 🙂

  2. Lindsay permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:37 pm

    I’ve tried to pick up your bag before, I think that my back still hurts.

  3. janet mcmurtray permalink
    July 29, 2010 12:02 pm

    And yet, stunningly in the midst of all that crap she carries around, thee is no hairbrush!!

  4. July 29, 2010 2:40 pm

    You carry a ridiculous amount of stuff. If you ever have a sore back/shoulder/arm, I know the cause.

  5. Neha permalink
    August 15, 2010 12:25 am

    This purse must really be a backpack.

Leave a Reply

