Skip to content

I’ve Been Framed!

July 22, 2010

Summer is about spare time and, to me (and, let’s be honest, 80% of women everywhere), spare time is about shopping.

I’ve been needing (wanting) some new prints for my bedroom at school so I ventured to Etsy where there is a wealth of wonderful artists just waiting to take my money. I happened upon a small print shop (http://www.etsy.com/shop/charmaineolivia?ref=top_trail) full of way too many options. I’m sort of obsessed with bird imagery and luckily this shop had a ton of cheap, cute prints.

The big decision then (after choosing with ones I had to have now and which ones I’d come back for later) was how to frame them. Most of the art I already own is custom framed either because of size, price, or simple aesthetics. I didn’t really want to spend more money on the frames than I did the prints (ranging from $15-$30  piece), so I made a quick trip to Target where I picked up an assortment of frames in different sizes and styles.

I have an arrangement in mind, something like this:

but I don’t quite have enough for that. I guess I’m just going to have to get a few more and take over the wall above my bed. I’ll try to remember to take a picture when I get back home in the beginning of August.

After all of this, it seemed like frames had taken over my life. We are doing a sprucing (repainting? remodel? repurposing?) of one of the bedrooms in my mother’s house and one of the plans for an accent wall is chalkboard paint. Moreover, chalkboard squares in frames. The inspiration came from a now-closed bakery in Fondren.

They are packing up. 😦

The problem is, where do we find these frames? We’ve scoured art supply stores, thrift stores, and consignment shops only to find a meager handful of small frames. I like the idea of thrift stores for a unique assortment of frames, but it seems online might be our only option. That, or making them ourselves (and I sure as hell don’t trust myself with a saw).But that is just what I plan to do in Starkville. There is a Lowe’s near my house and I plan to get a large sheet of shower board to paint over before adhering a homemade frame (probably from crown molding) and propping it up against this wall.

The plan would be to remove the posters. Eesh. And my desk needs to be de-cluttered. And I need a new lamp shade. And I-- I should focus on redecorating later...

I think it’s time for an upgrade, no? Maybe like this?

Or Like this?

Cause I ❤ chalkboard paint. Get it? Huh? Huh? Yeah.

Big or small, one or many, white or silver, the question of frames has pervaded our lives recently so if anyone has any ideas, please share them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Neha permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:40 pm

    I’m a big fan of the chalk board style wall and the bird paintings! Though I’m not very artsy so having that wall may not be as fun for me. Hmm…though the tulip one gives me ideas. I could do human anatomy for studying.

    By the way your room looks very neat. I remember the days where I wasn’t even allowed upstairs… hahaha You should post up more pictures, since who knows when I’ll actually see your place in real life. 🙂

    • July 22, 2010 6:46 pm

      Lol. I am fastidiously neat now, so I’ll take lots of pictures when I get back to Starkville. The bird pictures were taken in Jackson, actually, and that room is also very neat.
      The chalkboard wall could be crazy useful as well as fun. I’ve just got to figure out how I’m going to get a giant sheet of plastic back to my house. Hmm.

  2. Neha permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:55 pm

    I’m impressed! Yes, please do take pictures! And in return I’ll take pictures here. Probably mostly of my neighborhood. My house itself, not so interesting.

    Hood of your car? lol kidding.

    • July 22, 2010 7:14 pm

      Shall I include a picture of a current newspaper so you’ll know it’s recent? Lol.

  3. Lindsay permalink
    July 23, 2010 12:46 pm

    I really do like the prints, and they will look fabulous in Starkville. Thhe only thing I wish? That it was easier to find thrifted frames. 😦

  4. July 29, 2010 2:46 pm

    Those prints are so you. They’ll look great in your room! You’re having a good time ordering prints for the art wall, aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

