Skip to content

Kosci-Oh-No!

July 21, 2010

I have been remiss! And really, who does that shock? But my transgressions are only a handful of days as opposed to, say, the year that I previously took off, so you’ll have to excuse me.

Today, I somehow found myself in Kosciusko. I don’t know how many of you have been to this bustling metropolis, but let me tell you. This is Mississippi’s version of New York or London or perhaps, I don’t know, an African Bush Camp but with more fried food.

What must be one of the only large (though admittedly very pretty) buildings. Town Hall.

We (Lindsay, Lauren, and myself) ventured to this cultural capital because it was the only remaining location available for Lin to take her summer class final. And now I know why. Living in Starkville, a city with a population of 20,000 give or take, I thought I had gotten used to the small town charm (and I use that word with some amount of sarcasm). But Kosciusko has a population of less than half of that and I must say, it shows.

Let me explain how this came to be. Lindsay needed an extra summer class and felt that it would be cheaper (it is) to take it via the virtual Mississippi Community College System rather than through State. She also thought it might be easier to still be able to live in Jackson. However, when you don’t schedule your tests properly (you know, the ones where you sit in front of a computer and a disinterested professor barely getting paid fills in a Sudoku puzzle at his or her desk), you end up in any number of tiny towns dotted across the state. And that is how we ended up in Kosciusko.

I have to say right now that despite my aforementioned disparaging remarks, the people  of this town (Township? Community? Postage Stamp?) could not have been nicer. From the staff at the one-room Holmes extension to our waitress at The Cafe on the Square, we encountered nothing but the most pleasant of people. That and a pretty good lunch.

Yes, we forgot to take a picture while we were there, so you get to see the action photo. And the reflection of Lindsay's fingers. Yeah.

If you ever find yourself in Kosciusko (for God knows what reason), I recommend stopping by The Cafe on the Square for three reasons: good food, good prices, and good service.

When trying local restaurants, I try to get the special, whatever it is, because it is usually something they make well and it is usually pretty cheap. For $6.50, I got some kind of Southern Chicken Dish (with what had to have been a ‘cream of something’ in it, that kind of Southern), a salad, and a roll.

For another $2, I got a huge slice of chocolate pie topped with meringue.

Though the best thing about this lunch had to have been Lauren covering the ticket settling a bill with Lindsay. Can you say fringe benefit?

So while it took two hours to get there and two hours back (not including the forty minutes for lunch and the half hour for Lin to take her tests), we still got a good lunch and the knowledge that this is one more city to cross off the “to live in” list.

Addendum: On later research, I did learn that I should have stopped by the bizarre yet folksy home of L.V. Hull. I’m sad I missed it.

Next time: Financial Aid Woahs!, October is the Month for Concerts, and More! (God, Let’s Hope)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 1:30 pm

    mmmm, that pie looks delicious. My mom took me to L.V. Hull’s house when I was little, I think, or at least I have some trippy, half-memory of it.

    • July 21, 2010 3:14 pm

      I think any memory of that place would be trippy.

Leave a Reply

