Skip to content

Wake Up, Ma’am!

July 10, 2010

One of my many, many summer goals (which include, but are not limited to cleaning, writing, and cooking my way through Julia Child’s cookbook one recipe at a time) is to read more. I am the technical definition of a bibliophile. I collect books and then never get around to reading them. But I have no excuses this time. I have time and a giant stack of books. First on the list? Jonathan Ames’ Wake Up, Sir! I’ve liked what I’ve read of his before as well as being a general fan of the genre (humor). After that, however, there is no order, no rhyme or reason save for working my way down. Wish me luck.

As for my other goals (i.e., ways I waste my time), I would like to draw and paint more without the mindless attention to which I had previously afforded these pastimes. In that vein, my sister, mother, and best friend got together to paint tonight. Now, none of us are artists, nor do we harbor any beliefs to that effect. However, I think my painting turned out pretty cute!

This took maybe an hour of time and a year off my life.

It is super simple, and we had all of the supplies already on hand. My sister’s octopus painting was adorable and both my mother’s Christmas in July painting and Lauren’s (the friend) blue and green Owl are coming along wonderfully. Pictures to (hopefully, if they’ll allow me) come.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    July 11, 2010 1:17 am

    You will definitely have permission to post my Owl. Hopefully I’ll finish him up this week. 🙂

  2. Lindsay permalink
    July 11, 2010 3:41 pm

    Lisa,
    it’s your sister. I still don’t understand why you’re doing this.
    I seem to be your only reader.

  3. Lindsay permalink
    July 11, 2010 3:42 pm

    I’m actually pretty proud of my paintings, too. And you are Monte than welcome to post them in all of their cute (or not so) glory.
    I think that spending this summer reading is a great plan. You should get to it!

  4. Lindsay permalink
    July 11, 2010 3:44 pm

    *more than

    Also, you are my creative idol.

  5. Neha permalink
    July 11, 2010 8:06 pm

    Oh this is very cute! I’d put it up on a wall. Somewhere.

Leave a Reply

