Skip to content

Let’s Play Catch-Up

July 9, 2010

Summer Goal #896: Blog

Like an impossible New Year’s Resolution or a Lottery dream, I’ve decided that this time will be different and I will keep and blog (and mean it!). It’s just like learning how read or ride a bicycle or discovering clean alternative fuels, right?

Right.

But I am nothing if not hopelessly optimistic (lie #1) and steadfastly determined (lie #2), so I’m throwing my proverbial chips in and giving this (yet) another go.

Right. Again.

I’ve recently graduated college, so this summer has been excessively hedonistic, lazy, and expensive. Like every new college grad, I’ve made no progress towards landing a job, nor do I intend to. Two words: grad school. I am a masochist, but not enough of one to get a real job and I’m actually gleefully looking forward to another year of procrastinating and coffee-drinking. Except for this time, replacing the never-ending fear that I’ve Forrest-Gumped my way through college, I’m teaching Freshmen! Because why should I keep my crippling insecurities to myself when I can share? What can I say, I’m a giver.

But really, I’m actually excited (and a little terrified, to be honest) to be teaching the single section of remedial English that I have somehow been entrusted with (though if it is an 8 a.m., I may revolt). I’m a nerd. One step at a time.

As for the summer, it has been an influx and fast and slow, of travel and sleeping in, of vacations and watching too much television. I spent a week driving up the Eastern coastline with my sister and friend’s family (where at least two of us decided that the perfect fallback plan involves working at Colonial Williamsburg).

Colonial Cloth Maker...thing.

Ah, man. A revolution is stirring!

Old printing press. Ooooh, yeah.

Me, frantically rehearsing my five line part for a Colonial Trial.

I also spent 14 (?) days traveling through Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone with my family and a friend. There are literally thousands of pictures of everything from breakfast to owls to wolves to baby mountain goats.

Quick picture taken from my brother and my kayak trip down the river.

The weather was a little dreary, but I still love Oxbow.

Jenny Lake, my all-time favorite place in GTNP.

And I have just returned from a (too) brief trip to Destin, where it rained every day but the one we left on. In between constantly having to pack a suitcase, I’ve done absolutely nothing.

And I mean nothing.

I’ve doodled. I’ve slept in. I’ve read books and watched movies. I’ve eaten PB&J sandwiches. And I haven’t written anything decent. But I’ll get right on it. Right after this repeat episode of Gilmore Girls. Yeah.

So this is one step (albeit tiny, insignificant, and exceedingly esoteric) towards becoming more productive.

Cheers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. janet mcmurtray permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:46 pm

    I wish I could do all that–i just get to finance it 😦

    • July 9, 2010 4:52 pm

      Me: [gasp] I have a comment!
      Lindsay: [semi-enthusiastic thumbs up]
      Me: [reading]
      “Lisa,
      it’s your mother. I still don’t understand why you’re doing this.
      I seem to be your only reader.”
      Me: [sighing]

  2. Lindsay permalink
    July 10, 2010 1:12 pm

    Lisa,
    it’s your sister. I still don’t understand why you’re doing this.
    I seem to be your only reader.

  3. Lauren permalink
    July 11, 2010 1:26 am

    You are my hero.

  4. Neha permalink
    July 11, 2010 8:09 pm

    If it makes you feel better, I’ve decided to do a blog soon too. But mainly a picture blog for when I venture to India for the fall. And I will probably abandon it on day one. And look you’re already doing better.

    • July 11, 2010 8:22 pm

      You’ll have to tell me the link. I’d love to see it. Also, when approving your comment, I saw that you are still using the same email address as you were in 8th grade. I love that.

Leave a Reply

